Home \ News \

Julio Álvarez, new member elected for the EFSA Animal Health and Welfare scientific experts panel

The European Food Safety Authority renews the composition of its scientific panels for a new 5-year term

July 1st, 2024

Julio Álvarez, new member elected for the EFSA Animal Health and Welfare scientific experts panel

On 1 July 2024, 180 leading experts joined the European Food Safety Authority’s (EFSA) scientific panels for a new 5-year term. EFSA’s experts provide independent scientific advice to protect EU consumers, animals and the environment.


Over 1500 scientists applied to become EFSA panel members following a call for experts in spring 2023. The appointed scientists, from 26 countries (including six non-EU countries), were selected following a rigorous evaluation procedure and screening of their declarations of interest, adhering to EFSA’s strict rules on transparency and independence.


Julio Álvarez, deputy head of the Visavet Centre and professor at the Department of Animal Health of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of the Complutense University of Madrid, has been elected scientific member of the Animal Health and Welfare panel, which will also include two other renowned Spanish scientists; Jordi Figuerola and Miguel Ángel Miranda Chueca.


ull list of panel members and their declarations of interest 

Related news in other media:

- La EFSA incluye a tres españoles en su nuevo panel científico de Salud y Bienestar Animal - animalshealth.es

Servicio de Informática y Comunicación

VISAVET Health Surveillance Centre
Complutense University